

## **APPEALS COMMITTEE 2023-24**

# (COVERING DISMISSAL/DISCIPLINARY/GRIEVANCE & REDUNDANCY MATTERS) TERMS OF REFERENCE

- To consider any appeal against a decision to dismiss a member of staff made by the Hearings Committee\*
- To consider any appeal against a decision short of dismissal under the Governing Body's personnel procedures e.g. disciplinary, grievance, capability\*
- To consider any appeal against selection for redundancy\*

#### **MEMBERSHIP**

The Governing Body may nominate a pool of governors including any Associate Governor with voting rights, from which three will serve as the Appeals Committee.

### **DISQUALIFICATION**

The Headteacher

Any members of the Hearings Committee

(It is suggested that only experienced governors be appointed to this committee and that the Chairman of Governors, due to probable prior knowledge, ought not be a member)

| Name of Governor                                    |                                       |
|-----------------------------------------------------|---------------------------------------|
| Nicole Sharp ex officio Chair of Governors          |                                       |
| Amy Alderson                                        |                                       |
| Sylvana Hayes                                       |                                       |
| Amaya Silveria                                      |                                       |
| James Gallagher                                     |                                       |
| Kieran Allen                                        |                                       |
|                                                     |                                       |
| Robert Belcher ex officio Vice Chair of Governors   |                                       |
| Tracey Allen                                        |                                       |
| Peter Booth                                         |                                       |
| Nicole Sharp                                        |                                       |
| Louise McDonald                                     |                                       |
| Peter Evans                                         |                                       |
|                                                     |                                       |
| Glyn Whitworth                                      |                                       |
| Chair of the Committee                              | To be agreed by the Committee         |
| Clerk to the Committee*                             | Current clerk to GB St Peter's School |
| May be provided by LA when Area Insurance nurchased | _                                     |

<sup>\*</sup>May be provided by LA when Area Insurance purchased

#### **AUTHORITIES**

- This Committee is authorised to co-opt other Governors (with vote) (other than the Headteacher and any Staff Governor and those who sat on the Hearings panel) to assist in the process
- This Committee is authorised to take such other action according to the minuted powers delegated, from time to time, by the Governing Body.

| Quorum                                                | 3                 |
|-------------------------------------------------------|-------------------|
| Date Committee established                            | 12 April 2016     |
| These terms of reference agreed by the Governing Body | 13 September 2023 |
| Date of review: with other TORs                       | September 2024    |

<sup>\*</sup>cannot be delegated to an individual